St. Louis-Jefferson Solid Waste Management District

The St. Louis region, just like many other areas throughout Missouri, is dedicated to increase recycling and reduce waste.  The St. Louis-Jefferson Solid Waste Management District (SWMD) is one of 20 districts throughout the state created to assist the public, private, individual, and not-for-profit sectors in making these goals possible.  This District includes all communities within the City of St. Louis, St. Louis County, Jefferson County and St. Charles County.  Throughout the region, areas vary from highly urban to extremely rural; requiring a variety of programs and services to meet local needs.

The Waste Reduction and Recycling Grant Program is offered once a year in support of applicable programs and services.  Applications are accepted from October to December (actual dates vary).  Around 80 – 90 applications are received and, of those, the District generally awards 50 – 60 projects. 

Tremendous progress is being achieved throughout the St. Louis region. Along with the significant environmental benefits, the recycling industry accounts for thousands of jobs for our regional economy.  The ongoing collaboration between government, businesses and non-profit organizations ensures the best possible levels of service for our communities. By maximizing public-private partnerships, communities are accomplishing much more than each could achieve on its own.